The old bastard

So cozy, so fresh a warmth enveloping my old weary body
The dreams have prevailed and drifted to their deep dark cave
Leaving me reunited with a total satisfaction of a king’s rest
Though I yawn craving the one of flying rainbow colors
Anticipating that when the day’s no more, pillow to return
To linger through the glowing orchards of sleepers, dead and alive
And relinquish to the twin of death, away from–this farm hurts
The mooo and muuu sounds of cows, their breasts bursting with milk
The sordid disrespectful kids who vainly drag and brag despite to learn

Away from the farmers rackets and tractors that burst dust and noise
The sister’s who flaunt and blush —giggling and gossiping as they go
Their brothers, what a shame! same old story who’ll sleep with who and why?
Their unlearned folks, tampering our culture and tapering with age

Yes, a king on this fluffy pillow of ages who’s hand died- left me-widowed
But the morning’s good and blessed when you ooze your mind in comfort
It is twice blessed in that there’s no toil here, like a rock steady and unmoved
The dew’s cold outside and who’s that bastard who dare walk stirring it
And who’s that yokel who dare swim the lake startling the peaceful fish
Of who’s parents that lad belong, how dare he drive cattle’s on my farm

Wait till sun shines by the porch, the rocking chair—rocking and watching
Smoke of tobacco drifting from my Grandpa’s pipe, poor him to have left it
This farm has his ghost phantoms during the nights, his grave by the hill-rest
Where no kid or adult dare go, I’ve scared them away long time ago
Rocking and smoking, smoking and rocking here where it started and shall end
I’d be watching my farm, who goes where , how and why? Observing!
The ruthless creatures, unmannered, un-tamed, unlearned, uncircumcised—ugh!

But for now, better to relax, body’s old, weak and should resign from labor–hymm
To enjoy my foreign brandy and crack nuts to roast by the charcoaled hearth
Why should I be tilling this barren and ungrateful land, too stony, too unfruitful
Who cares, let the so called young blooded toil and till, perhaps they’ll yield the lot
Perhaps my stack of a million pounds buried by the willow root will last long
After all, who cares, old goat like me shouldn’t dare be concerned, after all death’s nigh

My long beard and mottled mustache, why think of fantasy under these clumsy lassies frowns. I’m mottoed of age, the label of the grannies and grandies, so fussy and gaunt, they reckon. Who cares, let them be for God sake, they’ll never grow old, perhaps this is immortal age. Anointed with elixir and all the portions of everlasting virgins and never aging blood. Blood bastards! even if I stink like dead mens foul, did you breasted me? Or napkin me? Even if I’m wild with the bottle, you say it’ll kill me, your doctors supports you—ahrrhhrrh

Eighty Seven years of life–you tell me that a child of yesterday who wouldn’t even reach nonagenarian. Who don’t even know the most sophisticated sonnet of Shakespeare–him Keats and others we’re of age. What a generation of fools, all from A to Z, none of them has yet revealed the secrets of life. Still they pretend as if they know, their governments, their scientists, doctors and teachers. What a league of ordinary gentlemen, God to have given life, what a waste of life! they’ll never learn. They say revolution, freedom, we’re setting up motives, we’re almost there—what a pity-(He cackles)

Sure to be a men enough, you could’ve experienced what we did, The wars of Hitler, Napoleon plans. The sinking ships and tankers under Germans ammunitions, the Russian, stupid dogs-protesting. Yes protesting and getting slaughtered like a bunch of unmoving dogs, blood on the child and blood on the mother. What a life, what have you to tell us, we’ve seen it all from Albert Einstein to Che Guevara

About Ephraim-Leo Chaparadza

A Zimbabwean who've fled from his country due the perils it was facing, the basic reason that first came in my mind when i've decided to fled was the condition of my two loved ones, sister and ageing grandmother, i wanted the best for them and to seek the means to expose my talent. Believe me, i've got worlds to share, i know life to a great sophisticated standard, though my english is not quite accurate, with the help of all on this site i'm positively sure i'll pull up. My father was a builder in the Rural areas of Murehwa in Zim, he passed away when i was five and that's how i got seperated from my mother when she returned to her first husband. And i was left in the hands of my aunt, she was a loving and one of the good role model of my life, she followed my father when i was eleven, and i was left in the hands of her children.I had to be passed from family to another and life wasn't quite good at all, i find it very hard to make peace with myself. For more about mylife, i'm on progress of my autobiography titled (The other border jumper). I've came to SA three times through risk means (under the spare wheels of trucks) due my conditon of not having anything to buy me a visa, this is the only choice i had. The third time is this, i've never been home after i've lost my grandma, work being a problem in Pretoria i've decided to come to Cape Town, with an aim to find a ship and sail away, but that wasn't God's plan. In the street i joined a Church (Christ Embassy) it was of great inspiration than any church i've attended before. A friend i met in this Church refered me to a project called Mylife (http://www.mylife.org.za/ ) The main task of the project is this, it empowers youth and children, especially from the street, role modelling and equiping them to be the caregivers of the future. This is where i'm staying now, where i've learned to use computers, and a lot more other things and i'm grateful.

Posted on July 27, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great blog! Keep up the good work! If anyone is looking for a way to get a college degree online, here is a link: http://get-online-degree-now.info . Just throwing my 2 cents 🙂 Best to all!

  2. Interesting page! I haven’t noticed leoephraim.wordpress.com before in my searches!
    Keep up the great work! I think this video might be relevant to the blog: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiHOLMIh0Jo

Leave a Reply

